Swimming and work, February 23

My cold is almost all gone and we went back to swimming lessons today. I concentrated on whipkick technique for my breaststroke, and then it was off to work. I dropped off Lizbot, our PhD student, on the way.

Swim workout in 25-metre pool with LotStreetWiz & Lizbot, overseen by Coach Kelvin, 65 minutes:

  • warm-up: (4 lengths breaststroke + 4 lengths freestyle) = 200 m x 2 = 400
  • 2 lengths of breaststroke kick only = 50 m x 4 = 200
  • 2 lengths breaststroke = 50 m x 4 = 200
  • 3 lengths freestyle = 75 m x 3 = 225
  • 1 length freestyle = 25 m

Total 1050 m or 1155 yards.

4 Responses to “Swimming and work, February 23”

  1. Danio Says:

    I started swimming lessons last Fall and I am totally hooked. Coincidentally, I also just recovered from the most severe cold I’ve had in years, and opted to stay out of the pool rather than subject my classmates to my hagfish impersonation. It felt great to get back in the water. I’m doing between 1500 and 2000 meters 3x a week.

  2. humblewoodcutter Says:

    Hi! Just wanted to say thank you for dropping my name on PZ’s open thread the other day! It took me a while to figure out why I was getting hundreds of hits all of a sudden! Free Range was actually on PZ’s blogroll for years, but this blog isn’t really as relevant, at least during the current situation! Cheers, I really appreciate the mention, and the thought. HW

  3. Rob Byrd Says:

    What’s the right activity for me?
    Whoever you are, there’s an activity for you. And just as getting fitter doesn’t have to mean pushing yourself to the limits of your endurance, you don’t have to be technically brilliant at a particular sport to derive pleasure and health benefits from it. Whoever you are, there’s an activity for you. And just as getting fitter doesn’t have to mean pushing yourself to the limits of your endurance, you don’t have to be technically brilliant at a particular sport to derive pleasure and health benefits from it.

    Rob
    http://www.toshoppingtips.com


Leave a Reply

