Bike ride, Leslie St. Spit

Tommy Thompson Park on Leslie Street Spit, Toronto, Ontario, CanadaIt was warm, almost hot, at home as I pulled on wool gloves in the sunshine, so I left my jacket and gloves behind. We biked down to the Spit, a park that is built on landfill and exists only on weekends (and holidays). On the Spit which extends out into the lake, it’s much cooler.

I saw a lot of the commoner birds: redwinged blackbirds, gulls, possibly a tern or two, a pair of mute swans (invasive foreign species) and ducks, and cormorants.

I certainly don’t have my cycling legs yet as I got tired just pedalling downhill to the lake. We experimented with a more gentle slope for our return route, but there’s no avoiding some climbing back up the old, post-glacial shoreline a kilometer or so from the lake.

It was nice to get out.

Leave a Reply

