Base cuisine: cheesecake

This is one of the world’s simplest pies, especially if you’re afraid to make pastry

Apricot cheesecake with gluten-free crust

I didn’t have graham wafers, so I made an oatmeal crust that I made in advance for the easy cheesecake filling. Aside from the 3-ingredient crust, it has three essential ingredients (sweetened condensed milk, cream cheese, and lemon juice) and two extras (almond extract and apricots).

The oatmeal crust was just rolled oats, maybe 1.5 cups, mixed with softened butter and brown sugar until it would stick together. Then I patted it into a pie plate and baked for maybe 12 – 15 minutes. It softened and swelled and collapsed into the bottom of the dish, so when I took it out I used a spoon to pat it back into crust shape and let it cool.

For the filling I followed the recipe on the milk can. 1 small can of sweetened, condensed milk, mixed with one 250-g package of cream cheese, softened. Add 1/3 cup lemon juice. The recipe called for 1 tsp. of vanilla extract but I used almond extract. Mix it up, spread it in the pie, and let cool in refrigerator for 3 hours. I put the can of apricots into the fridge, too. Before serving, get them out, drain the apricots, and arrange them artistically on the pie.

The recipe actually called for chilled cherry pie filling. I think any canned or cooked fruit would work.

Leave a Reply

