The lost pigeon

Several years ago, a white pigeon showed up and tried to eat from my wild-bird feeder, which was too small for it. Then a couple of days later I found its body in the lane. At that point it had been run over a few times and I thought it was a seagull. I picked it up to dispose of it and found that it had bands on its legs. So I called someone, maybe the humane society, so they could get the migration information. They took a look at it and told me it had been someone’s homing pigeon that got lost.

They also said I should have called the Racing Pigeon society, whatever it’s called, and reported it, so someone would have come to coax it back into captivity. The bands would identify its owner. If it ever happens again, I will.

Posted in birds, pets. Tags: . Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

