Back in Toronto

We’re home after a drive of just over thirteen hours. Along the way, I released only two books for the BookCrossing “52 towns in 52 weeks” challenge. That was kind of a shame because I’d spent a few hours acquiring, registering, and labelling books to be released on the way back. I just kept forgetting: the focus was on driving safely, keeping our stops short while stretching inactive muscles, eating as healthily as possible at fast-food shops, keeping the van’s fuel levels up, taking in the countryside, and not getting lost. I did get some pictures of green countrysides, prosperous barns, unidentified large raptors, dramatic clouds, and Chicago’s grimy bustle.


At the end of the journey we unloaded the van, greeted the kittens (noticeably bigger) and our sedentary cat (is she fatter?) and tumbled into bed. I fell asleep with a kitten purring and nibbling my hair. As of this morning, the recycling is out for pickup and all cats are accounted for: the active one came in, swore at the kittens, ate heartily, and departed. Here’s Marlowe asking, “Do I hear kittens!?”


It’s time to empty suitcases, sort clothes, shower, change, and visit my client site.