Seasonal minimalist wardrobes

I’ve heard about having 33 items of clothing but that doesn’t really appeal to me. For one thing, we have four different seasons when we’re in different moods about what to wear. Spring may be as cold as fall, but it seems warmer after the long winter.

So I’m trying this: seasonal minimal wardrobes. Pick out clothes for summer, fall, winter, and spring. I have four large tote boxes into which the off-season clothes go. Fall is reds and browns; winter is dark clothes, long sleeves and pants lined for warmth; summer is lightweight and light coloured; spring is cheerful colours. Some clothing, like blue jeans, carries over to all seasons.

What this does is immediately make more room in my dresser, since I’m not trying to fit in clothes for contrasting seasons. There’s not a complete separation between the clothes; nor do I count them. But there’s something sweet in putting away a season and not getting it out again for nine months. It also helps to keep me from feeling I have too many of something, because the extras are for other seasons.

My seasons are June – August, September – November, December – February, and March – May. I’ll want to keep the totes on the premises: I’m still sorting out which clothes belong to which season.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.